Q4 Dating Outlook Rocky, As Romantic Starts Continue to Decline

Posted on August 30, 2010

7


Dudes, I am losing the thread of this dating thing.  Here’s where we stand:

Lieu

Current conditions: Cloudy, with an omnipresent chance of disappearance.  I think he is interpreting our open relationship differently than I am.  Actually, I strongly suspect that he is distracted by dating someone else.  I know!  Who could ever have predicted that I would not find this arrangement to be to my liking!  I share the shock you undoubtedly feel right now.

But, I am fairly serene.  Bed made, lying in it…without him more often than I’d like, but when has that not been the case?  And he is still where I want to be.  We had the major lift phase, and I don’t regret it at all.  Looks like the end will come in the form of a series of minor falls.  C’est la vie. (That’s French for holy shit am I really still dealing with this?  Idiot.)

Outlook: Meh.

The Hockey Player

It occurs to me that I haven’t talked about him here.  Where to begin…have you ever slept with someone who looks exactly like a statue of a Greek god?  Yeah.  Oh, wait, no, that’s where it ended up.

I met The Hockey Player last spring, during the beginning of the first ending with Lieu.  (Remember, we were always allowed to date other people.  I just never did.  Until this guy.)  This is the only guy I’ve met whose pictures didn’t even begin to do him justice.  He’s really not my type–blond and jockish–but oh my sweet holy lord is he ever beautiful.  He’s also a lot of fun to talk to; it was my initial date with him that made me realize how I’d missed sharing the load a little bit.  Lieu is quiet, and I love that about him, but sometimes I don’t want to be in charge of the conversation all the time.  It was nice to be lazy for a while and let someone else steer the ship.

We had a couple of fun, easy, chaste dates, and then he bowed out to deal with an ex situation that wasn’t quite resolved.  But he popped back up periodically, and a few weeks ago we went out for drinks and dinner and wound up having some adult fun.  I’m really not trying to casually sleep with people, and it’s pretty clear that Hockey doesn’t want to date me date me, but when Brad Pitt expresses interest in sleeping with me, I drop trou.  He emailed me again yesterday about getting together, and I’m on the fence.  I don’t really need another ambiguous situation in my life, and I’m actually not so much attracted to him as I am fascinated by the idea of playing with someone so perfect-looking.  I’ve only ever seen an ass like that…nowhere.  Plus, I do have fun talking to him.  Jury’s out on this one.

Hometown Boy

Random guy I met online who happens to have grown up in the town next door to my hometown.  We were supposed to meet last week, and I cancelled in the wake of the job meltdown.  OK, and because Lieu suggested plans at the last minute.  (I’m not proud.)  We re-scheduled, but he never confirmed, and I thought he had pulled the old internet poof act.  But then he came back apologetically and asked for a repeat.

I could not have cared less about this date.  I mean, I wore flip flops.  With a cute dress, but nonetheless nothing says I don’t want to be here like rubber footwear.  He, on the other hand, wore a t-shirt and shorts.  He looked like a gym teacher.  I do not want to date a gym teacher.  If I never see another gym teacher again, it’s okay by me.  He also talked A LOT.  Like, interrupted every single one of my sentences, and not in a lively and charming way.  Tellingly, all I could think was that I was missing True Blood.  And that I hoped we didn’t have to make out.

We didn’t.

In sum, I think I’m in a bit of a slump.  It’s been almost a year now since the Great Dating Experiment began, and I have gone full-tilt that whole time.  I’m tired, I’m really busy at work, I’m trying to figure out a school option (cross your fingers for me on that score), and I think I just need to muffle my biological clock and take a break.  Maybe give serendipity a chance.

We’ll see how long that lasts.

