It Was Christmas Eve Babe, In the Drunk Tank

Posted on December 20, 2010

5


(Aw, totally misleading blog title.  It refers to song number one.  Sorry.)

I am feeling happy and sad as the year winds down.  Lots of good stuff happening, chief among them my love affair with my Jeep and the ability to play my music in it.  I have been listening to the songs below on repeat–and I do mean repeat.  When I get an itch for certain songs, I need to hear them dozens of times.  Nothing new or revolutionary about this list, just stuff I am loving at the moment.

The Lieu saga continues…just see every post I’ve ever written about it for the general idea.  We’re like strong magnets that repel and attract. Blah blah blah I’m a dumbass, but one who is crazy about a guy with whom she is exchanging Christmas presents tomorrow.  Pheremones, kids.  I’m struggling with feeling more and more guilty for not telling him about this blog, but that is its own post.

Ho ho hope your holiday season is going very well.  My Christmas present to myself is a blog re-design, coming soon.

Fairytale of New York Pogues with Kirsty MacColl

Special best Christmas song of all time.  Nothing takes me back to my drunken misspent youth like this one.

West Coast Coconut Records

If you shake her hard enough, she will appear.

Little Green Joni Mitchell

This always reminds me of Christmas too for some reason, but I love it year-round.  There’ll be crocuses to bring to school tomorrow…

The Twist Frightened Rabbit

I dare you not to fall in love with Frightened Rabbit.  This is my other favorite of theirs, Old Old-Fashioned.

This Year The Mountain Goats

My end-of-year anthem this and every year.  I am gonna make it through this year if it kills me.

Dublin Blues Guy Clark

Another favorite from my bar years. Never gets old.

Now, who wants to go for a ride?

Posted in: Uncategorized