2010 Quiz: Year in Review

Posted on December 29, 2010

3


(Quiz lifted from All & Sundry, an excellent blog I’ve been reading for years.  I have a secret mommyblog thing because…because.)

Please feel free to copy/paste for yourself! If you do post this on your own blog, link to your entry in the comments here and we will all be best friends.

1. What did you do in 2010 that you’d never done before?

This year I made a concerted effort to move the ball forward in terms of finding love, with decidedly mixed results.  But probably the most important thing I’ve done is live by myself for a year, and I love it.  Too much, perhaps, but love nonetheless.  I love my neighborhood, I love my big, colorful apartment, I love the art on my walls, all of it.  I worry some that it’s making me weird, but the people who worry about it aren’t the ones who wind up isolated cat ladies wearing Christmas sweaters and getting all of their human interaction from the barista, right?  Right?

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I’m sure I made the same ones I do every year–shrink to a size 8 and forswear all tobacco products.  Here’s to you, 2011.  The struggle continues.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Lots and lots of weddings, but no babies, I don’t think.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

Both December 2008 and December 2009 contained tragic, sudden deaths of people in my life who had decades left to them, so I feel a little too black Irish to call 2010 a fait accompli, but so far so good.

5. What countries did you visit?

Ugh, none.  But Hawaii should count!  And last year I went to Costa Rica and Tanzania.  You wish I had this blog then–I have some pictures of sloths and lions and elephants that are like, whoa.

6. What would you like to have in 2011 that you lacked in 2010?

I’ll quote myself:

I want love. I want words of love, and acts of love, and a commitment to love.

And, just in case the universe is listening for once, I want not just to fall in love, but for someone to fall in love with me for once.  Greedy girl, I know.

7. What dates from 2010 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

Hmm.  I’ll remember the weddings, I think.  Good times, all of them.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Schoooool baby, hands down.  Actually doing it and doing it well will be a far greater achievement, but for now I will take a moment to give myself a little pat-pat for getting my shit together to apply and get in and lay the groundwork.  I even have a backpack, for goodness’ sake.

9. What was your biggest failure?

Well, despite my tagline, I haven’t talked much about the medicating aspect of life.  I promised myself that I would find an antidepressant regimen that I could stick with, still have orgasms, and be all titrated in time for the first day of classes, and that hasn’t happened.  I haven’t given up though–I have a full prescription right now…I carry it around and everything.  I don’t know why I can’t get on board with taking the damn pills already, except for that whole denial thing.  And while getting unceremoniously dumped by my therapist was not my failure, I did let it knock me back further than it should have.  Part of the whole denial thing includes not wanting to acknowledge how much that whole thing hurt. Not to be too much of an irritating cliche, but he was the first man that I put all my trust in since…ever, and he moved to Portland without telling me.  Not cool.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Eh, I’ve had worse years.  I did memorably just spend my entire Christmas trip to New Orleans puking in my hotel room instead of eating beignets and gambling, and that won’t be forgotten soon.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

Sweet, sweet Jeepy, I love you despite our rocky start. I’m also nerdishly stoked about my new Android G2 phone, complete with purple case.  It is way smarter than me.

12. Where did most of your money go?

Rent and Jeepy.

13. What did you get really excited about?

School, Lieu, and this blog, not necessarily in that order.

14. What song will always remind you of 2010?

I’m punting this one to my recently posted playlist.

15. Compared to this time last year, are you:
– happier or sadder?  Sadder…I was positively giddy with dating energy this time last year.  I’m not really more sad now, I don’t think, maybe just more stable and wary.
– thinner or fatter? Same.
– richer or poorer? Financially poorer, most definitely.

16. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Walked.  Had sex.  Seen my Ohio family.  Cuddled my part-time dog. Organized myself.

17. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Eat. Dwell on the Lieu saga.  Fritter away money.  Be alone.

18. How did you spend Christmas?

Had a great Christmas Eve with local family, and then got on a plane to New Orleans Christmas morning,  I had an amazing Christmas dinner at a John Besh restaurant, and then puked for 48 hours, got on a plane, and came home. FAIL.

19. What was your favorite TV program?

True Blood, god help me.

20. What were your favorite books of the year?

Freedom by Jonathan Franzen, Black Swan Green by David Mitchell, One Day by David Nicholls, the Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins…I probably read over 100 novels plus every New Yorker this year, and half the blogs on the internet, so it gets hard to remember.

21. What was your favorite music from this year?

I totally fell in love with Frightened Rabbit.

22. What were your favorite films of the year?

I saw several that I really liked, but let me take this opportunity to say that I HATED Black Swan.  The nasty foot shots alone would have done it for me, but I found the whole thing almost too creepy and sad and awful to even look at, and I like my shit goth.  Also, even though I know this says more about me than about the movie, Natalie Portman’s breathy, pleaser little girl character filled me with such intense hatred and rage that I almost could not remain in my seat.  I know it was a well-done film, and that she is a great actress.  I get it, I just hated it.

23. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

Karaoke, always.  The one time per year I can legitimately force people to accompany me. I was 35.

24. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Love is my top preoccupation, but I could have used a little professional satisfaction this year.  None to be had, I’m afraid.

25. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2010?

V-neck dress, leggings, tall boots.

26. What kept you sane?

Err.  Nothing, obviously.

27. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2010.

Birds gotta fly, fish gotta swim, and C_Girl gotta write, write, write.

 

Posted in: Uncategorized